Student Help Center

To book a road test- it needs to be done ONLINE .  New openings for tests populate at 12A.M.     We CANNOT book road tests at our driving school or for you.

You do NOT need to create account to book a road test. Availability has been very scarce lately.  Yes, you may have to travel- unfortunately.  And no, they will not answer phone calls.

Steps to Getting Your MN Driver License (Ages 15-17)

Step 1 - Classroom instruction: Students must enroll and attend a Minnesota approved classroom instruction program. Once enrolled students must complete the state required 30 hours of classroom instruction.

Step 2 - Blue card: Once classroom instruction is complete students will receive a certificate of classroom completion. The ONLY way students are awarded a blue card (needed in order to take knowledge test) is if they are enrolled in behind-the-wheel instruction.

Step 3 - Take knowledge test to get your permit: Schedule your Class D knowledge test at a Minnesota drivers and vehicle services location. Test are scheduled online at Be sure to have your blue card, proper identification, social security number, and knowledge test fee. After the knowledge and vision test is passed, students will then be awarded their instruction permit.

Step 4 - Behind-The-Wheel instruction: After receiving your permit it is recommended that students log around 10 driving hours with a parent/guardian before scheduling their first behind-the-wheel lesson. Students tend to have a higher comfort/confidence level if they have had practice prior to. Students are required to complete a total of 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. Lessons will be divided into 3 separate 2 hour lessons. Students are able to book all their lessons online in their student portal. Behind-the-wheel lessons are conducted 1 on 1 with one of our state licensed instructors. After completing all 6 hours students will be awarded a white card. White card is required to take provisional license.

Step 5- Driving Log: Before students are able to take their road test they must log at least 50 hours of drive time with a licensed driver 21 years of age or older. Of those 50 hours 15 must be night driving hours. Behind-the-wheel hours cannot be added to your driving log. Be sure to keep a physical written copy of your driving hours, digital copies are not accepted at the dvs.

Step 6- Road Test: Students are able to take the road examination if they are at least 16 years of age, have had their permit 6 months with no violations and have completed all of the steps above. Road examinations can be scheduled online at Upon arrival for your road examination students need to have their permit, white card, proof of insurance for the vehicle they will be testing in, physical copy of driving log, and corrective lenses if required.

Practice Knowledge Test!

Road Test Study Guide!

Finishing Class?

What next? Blue card and BTW.

Licensing Process

Review For Permit Test

Review Day Notes

Farm Permits

Farm Permit Statute

Farm Work Affidavit


Check out this list for some of our most frequent questions. If your question isn't answered, feel free to reach out. 

Check out our Pricing page for the latest options available > Click to Visit Pricing

Students may obtain their permit once they turn 15 years old.  Before getting their permit they will need to complete a driver’s education course through a State licensed school (30 hours).  They must be at least 14 years old to begin one of these class sessions.  After completion they will need to get a blue card from the driving school where they wish to take their behind-the-wheel lessons.  Once they are 15 years old, they need to take their State Knowledge Test and need a score of at least 80% to pass.  After that, they are eligible to head into a local DVS office and complete their Vision Exam and obtain their Learner’s Permit.  

  1. Blue Card
  2. Birth Certificate (original- no copies)
  3. Social Security Card 

Please schedule online ahead of time.

Things to bring:

  1. White Card (from driving school)
  2. Permit
  3. Insurance from Vehicle
  4. Paper driving log (or printed if using App)

We usually ask that a student has 20-30 hours of driving practice before beginning their first behind-the-wheel lesson.  It also does usually help to keep one instruction lesson closer to the Student’s actual Road Test date.  They can do all three lessons in one week if they want, or they can separate lessons out months apart.

Contact Us

Still Have Questions?

Check out our Frequently Asked Questions or send us a message!

Scroll to Top